0 (Zero) Reasons I Take Myself Seriously

evangelicals-worshipingI have always wondered, why people take themselves so seriously. There is a time to be serious, but I have yet to find a place to take myself seriously.

I am fallen, to take my self seriously is about as possible as to say Weiner is a virtuous.

Since I do not take myself seriously, I will post some things I have been thinking about (courtesy of the Czar):

  1. Why do Evangelicals keep Christ is Christmas? Yet, not a single mention of keeping the Mass in Christmas…shouldn’t you call it Christ-service?
  2. How in the world do you have an altar call…and not altar?
  3. In the Bible, where is “ask Jesus to enter his heart”? Book, Chapter, and Verse, please.
  4. Same note, “relationship with Jesus Christ,” where is that mentioned?
  5. If every Bible was burned, what would be the pillar of truth be to the Evangelicals?
  6. How do you invite someone to Church, when the Church is invisible?
  7. If Evangelicals are true “Bible” Christians, then please explain why there is no self-appointed pastor in the Bible?
  8. If Galatians 2 proves Peter does not have supremacy and holds no authority over Paul, why does Paul ask Peter in the same chapter to make sure his message is correct?
  9. What were Luther and Calvin reforming?

I am, Sirs,
Your obedient Servant,

Buster III or Chris IV

P.S. Come at me, bro.

2 thoughts on “0 (Zero) Reasons I Take Myself Seriously

  1. First of all, I love ya, bro! You pose some great questions.
    However, first I will posit that perhaps you should take yourself a little more seriously so that some of the questions do not sound like petty “Oh, yeah, well take this!” shots from a kid stuck in a corner. Not all of these questions seemed well thought out.
    Moving on, this is just a quick response without much pre-meditated thought, but questions 1-4 are actually good questions that many evangelicals have been asking. I personally regret the loss of so many altars and services on Christmas, though there are several churches which do offer these. Many evangelicals I have met interpret “ask Jesus to enter his heart” to mean start a relationship, and it is based on Jesus calling His disciples his friends, those who follow His commands. (See Romans 10:9-10; John 15:13-15)
    5 can be a good question if asked in the proper context, which I think you missed. While it is a shame that many evangelicals seem to have so sense of tradition, history, or theological understanding, if all of the Bibles were burned these would some of the first people to attempt to pass on the tradition of sharing the Gospel.
    You seem to be failing to catch the other half of the statement for number 6, which is “This building is not the Church, it is a place where the Church meets.” Therefore, people are invited to a building to be introduced to the Body of Christ (the Church) through whome Christ works.
    The vast majority of evangelicals also disapprove of “self-appointed pastors.” Most pastors (most, but not all) started in a denomination after sensing a call from God and being confirmed by elders and pastors within those denominations. Really, much of the process happens much as in the Catholic Church in most Protestant churches. Again, there are too many “self-appointed pastors,” but the same could be said no matter the church.
    As far as Peter and Paul are concerned, why could they not be just living out Proverbs 27:17 (iron sharpening iron)?
    Martin Luther and John Calvin were asking questions such as “Where in the Bible does it say we should sell indulgences, pray to anyone other than God, only give half of the Eucharist in any instance, or that only a privileged few should control the Gospel message (meaning, why were only priests allowed training to learn to read the Latin Bible)? Why has the church found ‘a fine way of setting aside the commands of God in order to observe your own traditions’ (Mark 7:9)?” In other words, the were attempting to change apparent discrepencies between church leadership and God’s Word. Instead of reform, which Luther desired, he saw a split of the Church.

  2. No, these are serious questions that I have yet to have answered by Evangelicals. I search for the truth, and where truth leads me is where I will go. Now, that I have said that, I have some more questions.

    About the ritual of “asking Jesus to enter his heart,” I do not see it in the Bible that someone does this ritual and is then saved. Therefore, how can it muster the doctrine of Sola Scriptura since it is not in the Bible? When I get questioned about the Rosary, they ask me where it is in the Bible, I am told that it needs to be directly said in the Bible. So, I am confused that someone could use such a ritual for salvation that is not directly in the Bible and yet throw aside the Rosary, because it is directy and indirectly in the Bible.

    [Sidenote: Now, is there a relationship with Jesus that we’re supposed to be in? Yes, but it’s not so much a friendship, it is much more. As I have pointed out to some of my friends, I don’t want a relationship, as the Bride of Christ I want a wedding. And, Catholics get their wedding at the Mass. I want to “know” Jesus in the sense as the Biblical type tells us of Abraham knowing Sarah.]

    What is the proper context then? And, if all the Bibles were burned, what would you consider the Pillar of truth?

    Yes, I am aware of the definition of the Church in its many senses. However, when I need to correct my brother and I have talked to him with two or three, what am I supposed to bring to him to then? An invisible Church? I do not understand.

    Yes, I understand that, but who gave them the authority to start that denomination? Did not Matthew receive his authority from the Apostles, and did not the Apostles receive their authority from Jesus, and Jesus from the Father? Then by what authority did they receive their orders, except a sense of calling from God?

    That may be the case, but Peter shows Primacy. Or, what is happening at Mt 16:16-18? And, how come Peter is the Prince of the Apostles?

    My question the ML and JC is where in the Bible is Sola Scriptura? And, how would Christians know for this for about 400 years since we didn’t have the Canon of Scripture?

    I believe they gave “half” of the Eucharist, because of the conception of the idea that if you took the bread or just the wine that you were in fact only taking “half” of the Eucharist, when that is not correct. Both are hosts and both are transubstantiated into the fullness of Christ’s body, blood, soul and divinity. For distinction though, if you take both bread and wine then you do participate in a “fuller” sense of the Eucharist. However, taking just one is not half, it is still the fullness of Real Presense.

    I am not aware of priests only being allowed training, do you have a source for that? And, what apparent discrepencies are you referring to?

    Well what was Luther trying to reform (did Jesus not keep his promise in Mt 16:18)? And, if he was trying to reform, how come he started a new religion?

Leave a Reply

