Review: ApriHop from Dogfish Head

ApriHop100_0887

Dogfish Head Craft Brewery – Delaware, United States

Things:

  • Original Release Date: 03/2004
  • Style: IPA brewed with apricots
  • Bitterness: 50 IBU
  • ABV: 7.0%
  • Malts: Pilsner, Crystal
  • Hops: Not available
  • Dry Hops: Amarillo
  • Sampled: 12 oz. bottle
  • Price: $2.99 bottle

Description: “Aprihop is our fruit beer for hopheads! It is an American IPA brewed with Pilsner and Crystal malts massively hopped in the continuous fashion. The flavor is complemented by the addition of Apricots. [Edit: The addition of apricots complements this flavor.] After fermentation, the beer is dry hopped with irresponsible amounts of Amarillo hops. The beer is hoppy in the aroma with the apricots playing a supporting complimentary role. The flavor is rich with late hop flavors and its bitterness is tempered by just the right amount of malt sweetness and fruity undertones from the apricots.” – Dogfish Head Craft Brewery

Before: This is my first tasting of any beer from Dogfish Head. I am not sure what to expect, besides hops and apricot. What is said about Punkin’ Ale, they tend to go soft on their fruits. I hope not, I want to feel like I just ate some apricot.

The look: Orange-Amber in color, hazy, slow white head.

The smell: Looks do not deceive, smells heavy of citrus. The beer smells of faint caramel and apricot.

The taste: A tad bit salty, bitter, no real bite, medium, rich though and balanced. It finished sweet and bitter. I like it!

When I’d drink it: This bear is medium in body, but is still light for me (I don’t want to take a nap after I drink it). I would drink this with breakfast. Moreover, hot nights as this will not make you sluggish (I ran after I drank this beer). I would drink it with a salad, light pasta, fish, and maybe even some tacos on that hot night.

[Side note: I have been drinking for a long time and I have never described things in food language and never will (I’m not a pompous ass), I use words like sweet, sour, salty, bitter, bite, heavy, full-bodied, rich and balanced, and acidic. It is a little bit less basic than the basics: sweet, sour, salty, and bitter.

Rating: Four star. It needs a restaurant. I can taste the apricot, but it is mostly a hint. I’d definitely put it in my beer cellar if I had one to see if that flavor came out more.

Have you tried this beer? Did I say something wrong? Do you have questions? Leave your review or comment in the comment box and let the world know how you feel.

Remember to follow me on Twitter or Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Review: ApriHop from Dogfish Head

Leave a Reply

